Harry Styles responds to Zayn saying One Direction is ‘not music I would listen to’

Zayn said in a 2015 interview that he preferred 'cool shit' to One Direction's pop hits.

Harry Styles has responded to Zayn Malik‘s honest comments about One Direction‘s music.

In a 2015 interview with The Fader, Malik said of his former band’s pop hits: “That’s not music that I would listen to. If I was sat at a dinner date with a girl, I would play some cool shit, you know what I mean? I want to make music that I think is cool shit.”

Asked about these comments during his Rolling Stone cover story, Styles replied: “I think it’s a shame he felt that way, but I never wish anything but luck to anyone doing what they love. If you’re not enjoying something and need to do something else, you absolutely should do that.”


Styles added: “I’m glad he’s doing what he likes, and good luck to him.”

[sidebar id=”premium_inline_1″]

Earlier this month (April), Styles shared ‘Sign Of The Times‘, his first piece of music since the boy band split in 2016.

[sidebar id=”premium_inline_before_last_p”]

He has since debuted another song from the album, ‘Ever Since New York’, on SNL. He has also announced his self-titled debut album, ‘Harry Styles’, which will drop on May 12.

The tracklisting for ‘Harry Styles’ is as follows:

  • ‘Meet Me In The Hallway’
  • ‘Carolina’
  • ‘Sign Of The Times’
  • ‘Two Ghosts’
  • ‘Sweet Creature’
  • ‘Only Angel’
  • ‘Kiwi’
  • ‘Ever Since New York’
  • ‘Woman’
  • ‘From The Dining Table’