Interpol announce new album ‘El Pintor’

New York band's fifth album will be released on September 8

Interpol have announced details of new studio album ‘El Pintor’. See the album artwork above.

The LP will be the band’s fifth and is set to be released on September 8. A video of the band recording in the studio has been released alongside the album announcement. Watch it below now.

Consequence of Sound reports that Interpol finished mixing the record earlier this year and recorded the album between New York studios Electric Lady and Atomic Sound. James Brown (Foo Fighters, Arctic Monkeys) served as engineer, while Alan Moulder mixed it.

Interpol previewed three new songs when they headlined this year’s NME Awards Tour, with Austin, Texas. Track titles included ‘My Desire’, ‘Anywhere’ and ‘All The Rage Back Home’. The band topped the bill above Temples, Royal Blood and Circa Waves.

Speaking to NME earlier this year, guitarist Daniel Kessler said that he felt a “new, natural energy” between the band while making the album. “We’re never lacking ideas or inspiration,” he said. “There’s always something new to be said, and if you don’t have something new to say, that’s when you should take a break. We got back together because we felt that some of these songs had a certain urgency. It feels new again.”