The Black Keys announce new album details

Band to return to regular duty following Blakroc project

The Black Keys have announced details of their sixth studio album, set for release in May.

The blues-rock duo, having released a rap/rock crossover as Blakroc last November featuring collaborators including Mos Def, Raekwon and Ludacris, will release ‘Brothers’ on May 17.

The album was recorded at the Muscle Shoals Sound studio in Alabama, with further sessions at Akron‘s Easy Eye Sound System studio and Brooklyn‘s Bunker. The album features a cover of Jerry Butler‘s ‘Never Gonna Give You Up’.


Danger Mouse, who produced the band’s last album as The Black Keys, ‘Attack And Release’, has produced one song (‘Tighten Up’) and producer/engineer Mark Neill has contributed. The rest was produced by the band themselves.

Patrick Carney, one half of the band, said, “Dan [Auerbach, fellow band member] and I grew up a lot as individuals and musicians prior to making this album. Our relationship was tested in many ways but at the end of the day, we’re brothers, and I think these songs reflect that.”

The band are set to announces details of new UK live dates soon.

The tracklisting of ‘Brothers’ is:

‘Everlasting Light’
‘Next Girl’
‘Tighten Up’
‘Howlin’ For You’
‘She’s Long Gone’
‘Black Mud’
‘The Only One’
‘Too Afraid To Love You’
‘Ten Cent Pistol’
‘Sinister Kid’
‘The Go Getter’
‘I’m Not The One’
‘Unknown Brother’
‘Never Gonna Give You Up’
‘These Days’

You May Like