The Last Shadow Puppets announce new album in exclusive NME interview

Alex Turner and Miles Kane to release 'Everything You've Come To Expect' in April

The Last Shadow Puppets, the duo consisting of Arctic Monkeys frontman Alex Turner and Miles Kane, have announced details of their second album release in an exclusive interview with NME.

Turner and Kane speak to NME for an exclusive cover feature in this week’s magazine (available free in the UK from Friday, January 22).

Confirmed in the interview, the pair will release new album ‘Everything You’ve Come To Expect’ on April 1, the follow-up to 2008 debut ‘The Age Of The Understatement’.


‘Everything You’ve Come To Expect’ was recorded last summer at Rick Rubin’s Shangri-La studios in Malibu, California, a studio previously owned by Bob Dylan and The Band.

The album features Simian Mobile Disco‘s James Ford on drums, Owen Pallett scoring the string section and Mini Mansions‘ Zach Dawes on bass.

Explaining the long wait between the two records, Turner said that the band intended to release a trilogy and “wanted to write the second and third parts before we released the second”. Asked if fans would have to wait another eight years for the third installment, Alex added: “Well, I don’t know about that. There are lots of other things we have to factor in.”

Asked why now is the right time for the band to return, Kane joked: “It seemed to all align correctly. I did have to get [Alex] in a headlock briefly, but he came around.”

On what it’s like to work with Kane again, Turner said: “It’s like John Lennon meets… Paul [McCartney].”


Speaking about the new music, Turner said of what to expect: “I think the last record ended up being just one thing. We talked about Scott Walker a lot and our record became perceived asa homage to that sound. This one, in my head, doesn’t wear its influences on its sleeve as much as the first one did. We were definitely listening to a bit of Isaac Hayes this time, but it was less of a big deal.”

Kane continued: “At that time [of the first album], all that stuff was new to us. We were discovering it for the first time. This time, it was just songs that we were buzzing off that we were inspired by.”

Turner describes new single ‘Bad Habits’, recently released, as “quite different to anything on the first record” and says of album closer ‘The Dream Synopsis’: “I’ve said the word ‘dream’ too much at this point. It’s my version of that Miley Cyrus tune about the dream she had about her dog.”

The ‘Everything You’ve Come To Expect’ tracklisting is as follows:

‘Miracle Aligner’
‘Dracula Teeth’
‘Everything You’ve Come To Expect’
‘The Element Of Surprise’
‘Bad Habits’
‘Sweet Dreams, TN’
‘Used To Be My Girl’
‘She Does The Woods’
‘The Dream Synopsis’

The artwork is below:

Read the full interview and see the brand-new photoshoot in the all-new free NME, available nationwide on January 22 and on Find out where you can get your copy from the full list of pick-up points.

For all queries involving current subscriptions, visit our Frequently Asked Questions page.


Kevin Smith: “I’m the world’s biggest Kevin Smith fan”

The beloved cult filmmaker reflects on an extraordinary career

The Best Films of the Decade: The 2010s

As chosen by NME

The Best Songs Of The Decade: The 2010s

Here – after much debate – are the 100 very best songs of 2010s