Listen To A Gloriously Moody New Single From Pfarmers, Featuring Members Of The National And Menomena

Newcomers Pfarmers aren’t short of indie kudos: packing members of The National (Bryan Devendorf) and Menomena (Danny Seim) alongside St Vincent and Sufjan Stevens collaborator Dave Nelson, there’s considerable experience fashioning swoonsome, adventurous songs full of bone-chilling brass and choking atmospheric darkness between the trio.

Which is why it should probably come as no surprise that ‘You Shall Know The Spirit’, the latest track from their debut album ‘Gunnera’, released on May 12, is so captivating.Following on from ‘The Ol’ River Gang’, which was first heard back in March, it was “the first song we came up with as Pfarmers,” says Danny Seim. “Dave sent me an instrumental jam that he and Bryan recorded together on the east coast and I chopped it into bits on the west coast and sent it back to them for more layering. It was kind of a litmus test to see if the three of us could work together from across the country. We were happy with the result and decided to make a full album from there.”

Click here for physical and digital pre-orders of the album. You won’t regret it.