Marvel releases official timeline to clear up ‘Spider-Man: Homecoming’ continuity gaffe

Here's the timeline...

Marvel has released an official timeline of when the movies within the Marvel Cinematic Universe are actually set, after fans questioned the idea that Spider-Man: Homecoming was set some eight years after the first Avengers.

At the time, Avengers: Infinity War director Joe Russo claimed that the error was “very incorrect” – prompting Marvel boss Kevin Feige to confirm that an official timeline was in the offing.

Now, it seems he’s finally come good on his promise. The new Marvel: The First 10 Years book contains an entire timeline in order to settle a whole load of debates among fans. There’s a bit of revisionism too – as the new book states that Homecoming was in fact set just four years after the Avengers first emerged. Check out the timeline in full below.

  • 1943-1945: Captain America: The First Avenger
  • 2010: Iron Man
  • 2011: Iron Man 2, The Incredible Hulk, Thor
  • 2012: Avengers, Iron Man 3
  • 2013: Thor: The Dark World
  • 2014: Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Guardians of the Galaxy, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 2
  • 2015: Avengers: Age of Ultron, Ant-Man
  • 2016: Captain America: Civil War, Spider-Man: Homecoming
  • 2016 through to 2017: Doctor Strange
  • 2017: Black Panther, Thor: Ragnarok, Avengers: Infinity War

The official timeline comes ahead of Avengers 4 arriving in mid-2019. Before that, fans will finally see the arrival of Captain Marvel early next year.

Last week the six original Avengers also took out a full page advert to honour Stan Lee after the comic book titan died at the age of 88.