Arctic Monkeys, Disclosure and Palma Violets nominated for Ivor Novello Awards

The prestigious ceremony takes place on May 22

Arctic Monkeys, Everything Everything and Palma Violets are among the nominees for this year’s Ivor Novello Awards.

The annual songwriting and performance awards take place on May 22 at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel.

Arctic Monkeys are nominated for the Album Award, where the competition comes from Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds’ ‘Push The Sky Away’ and Laura Mvula’s ‘Sing To The Moon’.

Palma Violets’ ‘Best Of Friends’ is nominated in the category of Best Song Musically And Lyrically, against John Newman’s ‘Love Me Again’ and London Grammar’s ‘Strong’.

Everything Everything’s ‘Kemosabe’, Disclosure’s ‘Latch’ and James Blake’s ‘Retrograde’ are all up for Best Contemporary Song.

Speaking about their nomination, London Grammar’s Hannah Reid (pictured above right) told BANG Showbiz: “It’s the most prestigious, it’s the one more focused on songwriting… it’s the award that everyone wants.”

The 59th Ivor Novello Awards nominations:

Best Song Musically and Lyrically:

Palma Violets – ‘Best Of Friends’
John Newman – ‘Love Me Again’
London Grammar – ‘Strong’

Best Contemporary Song:

Everything Everything – ‘Kemosabe’
Disclosure feat. Sam Smith – ‘Latch’
James Blake – ‘Retrograde’

PRS for Music Most Performed Work:

Emeli Sandé – ‘Clown’
Passenger – ‘Let Her Go’
Olly Murs feat. Flo Rida – ‘Troublemaker’

Album Award:

Arctic Monkeys – ‘AM’
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – ‘Push The Sky Away’
Laura Mvula – ‘Sing To The Moon’