Def Leppard applaud The Darkness as they return to Download

Band return to Donington Park for another headline set

Def Leppard paid tribute to the reformation of The Darkness as they headlined Download Festival for the second time in three years tonight (June 10) with a career-spanning set.

Despite arriving on stage 20 minutes past their scheduled time slot, the Sheffield rockers played a well-received guitar solo-filled headline set which took in material from throughout their career of over 30 years.

They opened their set with ‘Undefeated’, later namechecking the reformed cock-rockers, who had played earlier on the same stage. “We want to thank The Darkness [pictured right], who are back together again. Good for them,” singer Joe Elliott told the crowd, also commending CKY, Puddle Of Mudd, Black Stone Cherry, Thin Lizzy and Alterbridge on their sets earlier in the day.

Elliott also recalled his band’s performance at the Donington Park festival in 2009, saying that Download is a “very spiritual place for Def Leppard because it’s a rock festival and we like them a hell of a lot.”

Def Leppard played:

‘Let’s Get Rocked’
‘Let It Go’
‘Love Bites’
‘Bass Solo’/’Rock On’
‘Two Steps Behind’
‘Bringin’ On The Heartbreak’
‘Switch 25’
‘Armageddon It’
‘Pour Some Sugar On Me’
‘Rock Of Ages’
‘When Love And Hate Collide’

NME.COM is coming live from the Isle Of Wight Festival and Download this weekend. Stay tuned to NME.COM/festivals/isle-of-wight and NME.COM/festivals/download for news, blogs, photo galleries and video interviews from both sites.