Shockwaves NME Awards 2008: Winners’ list

Get the low-down on all the this year's winners

The Shockwaves NME Awards 2008 took place last night (February 28) at the IndigO2 venue in London, where a variety of music stars picked up awards for their achievements over the past year.

The full list of winners and nominees is:

Best British Band

Winner: Arctic Monkeys

Nominees: Babyshambles, The Cribs, Klaxons, Muse

Best Album

Winner: Klaxons (’Myths Of The Near Future’)

Nominees: Arctic Monkeys (‘Favourite Worst Nightmare’), Babyshambles (‘Shotter’s Nation’), The Enemy (’We’ll Live And Die In These Towns’), Radiohead (‘In Rainbows’)

Best TV Show

Winner: ’The Mighty Boosh’

Nominees: ’Heroes’, ’Never Mind The Buzzcocks’, ’The IT Crowd’, ’Skins’

Best International Band

Winner: The Killers

Nominees: Arcade Fire, Foo Fighters, Kings Of Leon, My Chemical Romance.

Best Live Band

Winner: Muse

Nominees: The Cribs, Arctic Monkeys, Kaiser Chiefs, My Chemical Romance

Best New Band

Winner: The Enemy

Nominees: Foals, Joe Lean and the Jing Jang Jong, The Pigeon Detectives, The Wombats

Best Live Event

Winner: Carling Weekend: Reading And Leeds Festival

Nominees: Glastonbury, Muse at Wembley Stadium, T In The Park, V Festival

Philip Hall Radar Award

Winner: Glasvegas

Best Video

Winner: Arctic Monkeys (’Teddy Picker’)

Nominees: Bloc Party (’Flux’), Justice (’D.A.N.C.E.’), Klaxons (’Golden Skans’), My Chemical Romance (‘Teenagers’)

Best Dancefloor Filler

Winner: The Wombats (’Let’s Dance To Joy Division’)

Nominees: Bloc Party (’Flux’, Foals (’Hummer’), Klaxons (’Atlantis To Interzone’), Justice (‘D.A.N.C.E.’).

Best Film

Winner: ’Control’

Nominees: ’Hot Fuzz’, ’Pirates Of The Caribbean: At World’s End’, ’The Simpsons Movie’, ’Superbad’

Best Radio Show

Winner: Zane Lowe (Radio 1)

Nominees: Russell Brand (Radio 2, Chris Moyles (Radio 1), Colin Murray (Radio 1), Jo Whiley (Radio 1).

Best Solo Artist

Winner: Kate Nash

Nominees: Jack Penate, Amy Winehouse, Jamie T, Patrick Wolf

Best Track

Winner: Arctic Monkeys (’Fluorescent Adolescent’)

Nominees: Bloc Party (’Flux’, The Cribs (’Men’s Needs’), Oasis (’Lord Don’t Slow Me Down’), The Wombats (‘Let’s Dance To Joy Division’)

Worst Band

Winner: The Hoosiers

Nominees: Panic At The Disco, 30 Seconds To Mars, My Chemical Romance, Fall Out Boy

Worst Dressed

Winner: Amy Winehouse

Nominees: Johnny Borrell, Pete Doherty, Mika, Gerard Way

Villain Of The Year

Winner: George W Bush

Nominees: Johnny Borrell, Tony Blair, Amy Winehouse, Gordon Brown

Sexiest Man

Winner: Noel Fielding

Nominees: Julian Barrett, Nicky Wire, Holwin’ Pelle Almqvist, Patrick Wolf

Sexiest Woman

Winner: Kylie Minogue

Nominees: Jenny Lewis, Rihanna, Hayley Williams, Rachael Yamagata

Worst Album

Winner: Britney Spears (’Blackout’)

Nominees: James Blnut (’1973’), The Hoosiers (’The Trick To Life’), Mika (’Life In Cartoon Motion’, Leona Lewis (’Spirit’)

Hero Of The Year

Winner: Pete Doherty

Nominees: Noel Fielding, Thom Yorke, Ryan Jarman, Matt Bellamy

Best Website

Winner: Facebook

Nominees: Myspace. Bebo,, YouTube

Best Music DVD

Winner: Nirvana (’Unplugged In New York’)

Nominees: Babyshambles (’Up The Shambles’), Led Zeppelin (’The Song Remains The Same’), Oasis (’Lord Don’t Slow Me Down’), Amy Winehouse (’You Know I’m Trouble’)

Best Music Blog

Winner: The Modern Age

Nominees: The Hype Machine, Nothing But Green Lights, Spinner, Stereogum

Best Dressed

Winner: Noel Fielding

Nominees: Pete Doherty, Kate Nash, Gerard Way, Alex Turner.

Best Band Blog

Winners: Radiohead

Nominees: Foals, Lily Allen, Lightspeed Champion, The Streets

Best Album Artwork

Winners: The Good, The Bad & The Queen

Nominees: Arctic Monkeys (‘Favourite Worst Nightmare’), The Killers (‘Sawdust’), Kings Of Leon (‘Because Of The Times’), Manic Street Preachers (‘Send Away The Tigers’)

For all the awards coverage head to NME.COM/awards now. We have exclusive picture galleries, live webcams, minute-by-minute blogs straight from the ceremony and Big Gig and video interviews with the biggest names at the ceremony.

That’s just the beginning – the highlights of ceremony are being show tonight (February 29) on Channel 4 from 11.50pm (GMT).

Meanwhile, next week’s issue of NME – on UK newsstands from March 5 – will contain the ultimate coverage, interviews and photos from the 2008 Shockwaves NME Awards.

You May Like